Shed :: Black is Not the New Black. White’s Not White Either. (Part 6)

To read more about the whacky adventures in shed building click here to see all posts, or start at the beginning.

So now that I had the shed sided it was time to get some paint up on this thing. I was sorely tempted to leave it natural wood once it was sided. It looked really clean and reminded me of the timber frame shed that was one of my inspirations for this. However, I knew that it would fade unevenly and weather unevenly and I didn’t really want that.

The big deciding factor though came from the windows. My parents in getting their windows replaced had a whole set of windows that came from the factory with issues. I forget exactly what it was but the end result was every sash in every window in their house was replaced and they were left with 20+ black window sashes that were calling my name.

So I finalized a game plan. Black windows. White siding. Light gray interior. Gray painted floors and putty colored gray doors. Wild choices right?

White Shed. Black windows. Soon gray interior.

I decided to go with barn paint by Behr in off the shelf Barn White. First, it was cheap, and second, I had seen others use it to great effect and finally, I didn’t want to mess around with picking a white. I also figured I could match the doors and windows with Benjamin Moore Black in a nice semi-gloss. Again I didn’t want to pick a black, so I just picked the paint called “Black” because obviously that would be black … yea, turns out that’s not black. #neveragain

See here is some window trim looking pretty black right…?

Benjamin Moore Black ... not so black

Nope. Not black. Not at all.

Benjamin Moore Black ... not black.

At this point I had already painted a lot of window frames, doors and window trim. Not to mention the fact that I coughed up like $50 bucks for the gallon of Benjamin Moore paint. I was BUMMED. I tried to convince myself that it might be okay, but once I put those windows in and asked Shannon to come take a look, I knew neither of us could deal with it.

And so I googled around and realized my mistake. Turns out if you want black, you want premixed black. Turns out all I wanted was an $8 quart of Rustoleum semi-gloss black (latex, not the oil based enamel). It went on great,

Black doors and windows. Rustoleum Black ... Actually Black

So after my adventures in black, imagine my annoyance when my white … wasn’t terribly white. It was kind of beige-y. And worse it was downright spotted in brown and tan from all the knots. This is what I get for trusting a cheap paint that says “No need to prime!”, little did I know the full statement was “No need to prime, unless you care about having a consistent actually white shed, in which case you should obviously prime first bucko.” Seems a bit misleading to have left that last part off, right? You can see the off-white above comparing the white primed trim, to the siding (just ignored the green primed trim, that will get painted white later.)

And so I got the bright idea to prime all these spots and I turned this:

Knots showing through barn paint

With a little bit of child labor:

Child labor yay! Priming knots on shed

Into this:

Primed knots

I figured a quick touch up of paint would easily cover up those clearisil-esque spots … But yea, no. It turns out that the primer blocked the yellow of the siding from showing through so that now those spots look white, but just a bit whiter than the rest. So at some point I will probably break down and prime over the whole shed and repaint, but for now, it at least looks reasonable.

You can get a sense for the white spots in this later photo, which I took after the touch-up, and while I was hanging the (very dirty) black (no, really actually black this time) doors.

White shed with black doors and windows

After all that I was ready to do a bit more testing before I tackled the interior paint. So I grabbed a paint sample of Benjamin Moore’s titanium color matched at Lowes in Olympic and put some more spots (why not, let’s call it a theme at this point) inside the shed

BM Titanium inside shed

Benjamin Moore Titanium on shed inside

The second picture is probably more true to life in that it’s VERY light (see the white primed board for comparison). Shannon and I both want a clean, bright interior, but I wanted something that won’t show dirt and mud QUITE so much as just more barn white.

So let’s review my wild color choices: Barn white siding.  Black (really black, not semi, kind-of black) doors and windows. Slate gray floors. Light gray walls. Medium gray putty interior doors. I know it’s like a veritable cornucopia of daring and wild bold colors. I blame my color blindness. And maybe Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

