Workbench :: The quick kid version

I like house projects. That’s probably pretty obvious considering I take the time to write this blog about them, but one of the things I love about doing these projects is when the kids are down in the basement with me doing their work. It’s a little hectic at times to have them down there with me, but they really do love to do their own version of what I’m doing.

Right now I’m taking a class on how to build a workbench with traditional hand tool and joinery. It’s slow. It’s difficult. And I’m really loving it.

Eventually I hope to end up with something like this:

Maplewood bench

Right now it looks a lot more like this:

I knew when I started the class that I wanted to build the kid’s their own version. I had some scrap 2 x 10s from my failed attempt at pantry counter tops that I wanted to use up and thought this might be a nice quick project. So I spent some time sketching out what I thought I wanted to do for the kids that would look like mine, but be sized for them. I also didn’t want to spend a lot of time on joinery or level because frankly my kids are better at destruction than construction at this point in their lives.

So here is what I came up with:

I thought it would be a fun twist to take some of the metallic paint I had on hand that I used here and here to make the ends stand out. In actuality you can hardly tell in either the photos or in real life, but oh well. Maybe I’ll grab a sample pot of some electric yellow or eco-cooler green to make it slightly more kid friendly.

The project only took maybe 3 hours start to finish so I’m glad for that. And I think all I bought was a few 2x4s and two 2x3s. The best part of course though was how excited the kids were to use it.

Now if I can just finish my big guy version of that so I can get cracking on some more projects.

Leave a Reply

